Irony

Isn’t it too soon for another one of these post already?  I think someone up there both has it in for me (things just always seem to go wrong!), and is looking out for me (after all this, thank goodness I’m still alive and not a vegetable!).

I had an awesome ride yesterday.  At least the first 99% was awesome.  My favorite: Gateway ride, Estes via Devil’s Gulch, home through Lyons on 36.  And of course, I felt stronger than ever on the Gateway ride; the form is coming around.  And by the time I was cruising home on 36, it was up to 70 degrees; time to take off the leg warmers.  I’ve taken them off on the bike a million times.  But this time, of course, a gust of wind blew the leg warmer in my hand up into the front wheel, where it stuck:

The culprit.

The culprit. Almost too jammed to get the front wheel out.

And of course, I went flying.  What a fool!!  Don’t remember that part in detail, but I do remember the sickening feeling of the bike lurching back as the stocking got stuck.  Actually a nice sign, given how little I remember of the big crash last April.

But the result isn’t pretty.  I landed on my face and head, and suffered a good deal of memory loss.  I can actually remember not being able to remember who I was or where I was.  And I can remember it all slowly coming back.  It was actually an interesting re-living of the recent events in my life.

The result.

The result.

They promised me that my studliness would return in no time.

But bike racing; well, it really feels like enough is enough.  Can I give up and quit yet?  At some point it’ll just be too many head injuries.  I may be there already.

~ by awerbuch on March 20, 2011.

4 Responses to “Irony”

  1. Hang in there man. I never would have thought a leg warmer would do that, but seems a lot more dangerous now. Im sorry that happened to you, totally sucks. Good luck with your recovery.

  2. […] and swimming also do it good.  Yoga was pretty touch-and-go, since my balance was so bad from the concussion that I couldn’t even stand on one foot.  But this week I’ve been on fire! "Bird […]

  3. […] I am now set for life on irony.  Too bad I didn’t have this story when I was in grade school (or on the GRE), since every writing prompt was some version of “write about an example of irony.” I’ve got it covered now: I guest-rode for Team Exergy at Tour of the Gila, did some of my best racing ever, and had the most fun week of my life with those guys.  I raced against all the big teams and famous riders.  It was a fairytale; a dream come true.  And I did pretty well, for an amateur.  Life was grand.  So of course I decided to take time off from school and chase the dream.  And about a week later I crashed at Bear Mountain, and that was pretty much the end of my career.  Ironic. […]

  4. […] been nearly a year since Rudy, the bike racer Rudy, hit the deck at mile 100.2 of an (otherwise) glorious spring training ride on March 19, 2011. It has been a long, […]

Leave a Reply

 
