Rio Grande Team Kickoff

Dave Towle was there, so it was legit for sure (and things might get rowdy!).

The man. The legend. No shorter in real life.

The man. The legend. No shorter in real life.

My cousin (and Boulder resident) Steve came to check out the team, and give me support.  And boy, I’m glad he came.  I didn’t know anyone there!  I finally met Scott Glascock, the team director, in person, after much phone and email exchange.  Scott was kind enough to point out my teammates, none of whom I had ever met before (although I could guess who they were by the way they looked; bike racers just look…you know…different).

Cousin Steve came to check it out.

Cousin Steve came to check it out, and lend his support.

We chatted, and I tried to soak up as much as I could about the men who I would be traveling, riding, and, to some extent, succeeding or failing with.  They seemed…cool?  Certainly too early to tell!  But a finer looking group certainly never existed.  We are the cream of the crop at any function.  Our prowess here does bode well for our performance on the road.

The fine servers at the Rio Grande (of course) wasted no time getting the first round of drinks out, and everyone seemed to relax and small-talk filled the room.  And boy, those margaritas (limit 3!) can make folks more friendly.  By the time the buffet had been set up, everyone was busy conversing and no one took the initiative.  Finally it was time to start the program, and Dave and Scott had to order everyone to go get food and sit down.

Dave ran a great show.  He talked about the team history and highlights (first amateur team at a bunch of races including Nature Valley and others, getting guys pro contracts like Chris Winn and Jonathan Garcia), and ran through the big plans we have in store for the year (big races!).  He introduced all the team riders, starting, of course, with me (last name A-…).  I got to hear about the guys I’d be racing with.  I certainly left even more excited about the team than ever.

And of course, we got some of our equipment, which always feels like Christmas all over again!

Sexy Specialized S-Works Shoe: Don't get too excited: this is a family blog!

Sexy Specialized S-Works Shoe: Don't get too excited: this is a family blog!

What a great night!  We all left absolutely pumped for some great racing!

~ by awerbuch on February 17, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
