Racing

Normally the title “Racing” wouldn’t be news.  “Rudyrides” could have easily been “Rudyraces” since racing’s what it’s all about.  Things are different now, though, and today feels like none other.  I race today.  I woke up early — just couldn’t sleep anymore.  I’ve been counting down the minutes to departure time, trying to find things to distract me.  I haven’t been this nervous about a bike race in a long time.  It’s fun, though, in a way — to feel like this.  What a natural high.  I’ve MISSED racing!

I’m tentative to make too big a deal about today.  I’ve done a few practice “Wednesday night worlds” and it wasn’t pretty.  Two months of lying in bed followed by two months of slow endurance rides with strict heart-rate limits is certainly not ideal preparation for Gloucester.  Excuses be damned!  I’m going to be out there, racing my heart out nonetheless.

Another step forward.  It’s been a long road (remember where I started?  I couldn’t go more than four hours without sleeping in June, and my right shoulder was demolished and useless.  Just in mid-August, I got lost trying to find my way back out of the hospital because I couldn’t remember how I had gotten there, for my mental exam.)  And I’m not there yet – patience, patience!  I still have mental lapses and bad days sometimes.

June: Staples in the abdomen, left eye still droopy, short-term memory like a mosquito.

June: Staples in the abdomen, left eye still droopy, short-term memory like a mosquito.

Wish me luck.  I’ll let you all know how it goes!

~ by awerbuch on October 2, 2010.

One Response to “Racing”

  1. “Short term memory like a mosquito.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
