Trashonomics

In a lot of places I’ve ridden lately there are scores of cans and bottles littering the roadside.  I don’t like it any more than the next guy.  But let me go hypothetical for a moment:

Say I’m on a long ride, and halfway through this long ride, I need some refreshment, perhaps in the form of a nice can of Coca-Cola.  And say, there happens to be many bottles and cans already littering the roadside all along my route.  My tiny jersey’s tiny pockets don’t do so well with empty coke cans.  Hypothetically, I might be tempted to toss the can on the roadside.  I mean, what difference would it make, really?

Now consider a more interesting case: what if I threw the can on the side of the road, and then, when I was almost home (and my pockets were nice and roomy ’cause I ate all my poptarts), I were to pick up two unlawfully discarded cans and recycle them properly?  Convenient, yes.  Ethical?  You tell me.

(Does cap and trade make sense?)

Up next: a ride so epic, it is driving me to write my first ride report, ever.

~ by awerbuch on August 21, 2010.

One Response to “Trashonomics”

  1. This is like the time I found your Snickers wrapper on the trail at the Vermont 50.

Leave a Reply

 
