Long-time update

Hi Folks, thanks for reading.  It’s been awhile since I’ve made a post.  Without racing, things are a little less exciting than they used to be.  But a lot of you keep checking back anyway.  Thanks for the continued interest!  I’ll start the blog-o-matic back up and see how it goes.

Update:  I’m riding bikes again.  I’ve been “training” for a month now, and gradually building some base fitness, in rapt anticipation of next year.  Next year.  That’s what it’s looking like these days.  I still get dizzy if I get my HR over 140 for too long (I’ve been able to ride a little faux-tempo with my HR ~150 for a few minutes, an improvement from a month ago).

I got an ImPACT test (nice name, huh?) at the hospital last week, and apparently I’m still not too bright, and generally a little off, even though I’ve seemed pretty normal in day-to-day life.  So the upshot is, no racing this year.  The doc is pretty confident that I should be ship-shape by winter, and able to hit next season going full-steam.

A lot of people have told me that people come back stronger from this kind of thing.  I’ve been thinking about that a lot lately.  My drive is stronger than ever.

Stay tuned and we’ll see what happens.  It’s going to take patience though; you and me both.  In the meantime I’ll bring you up to speed on my Huck-Finn summer.

~ by awerbuch on August 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
