VeloNews Does it Again

I just visited VeloNews.com and my heart skipped a beat. I grabbed the computer and ran to the kitchen to replay for Rudy what I saw. Was it real? Were the people involved serious? Or was this some sort of joke, and Tina Fey was about to pop out and make it all ok?

I’m still coming to terms with the train wreck that is VeloCenter.

It wasn’t so much animatronic sports commentator Scott Kaplan, or former pro Todd Gogulski, with his Vaughters-esque glasses and sideburns. No, it was Holly.

I watched Holly announce read poorly from the teleprompter a preview of stage… something. I don’t remember. I was too distracted by her breasts and Jersey Shore-style mini-dress.

Watch for yourself, and check out her boobs cream colored lycra number for stage 20, or studded cropped jacket and low-waisted jeans for stage 19.

Holly, in all her objectification.

Just as expected, Holly caused the stir VeloNews was looking for. Unfortunately, the only one who lost out was Holly herself, as posters all over the Internet objectified her on threads like this one on Road Bike Review. (“If she hadn’t spent all her money on a boob job she’d have enough to feed herself.”)

One of the reasons I enjoy following professional cycling is for its lack of, well, Holly’s. And it isn’t Holly herself, but the suits who though she’d be a positive addition to their Tour coverage. Remember, these are the same folks who brought us a feature story on Sexy Lexi at Tour of the Gila, while neglecting to write about key events in the women’s race.

To VeloNews I say this: Less objectification, more news.

VeloCenter dudes Scott Kaplan, left, and Todd Gogulski, fully clothed and perpetuating the patriarchy.

-Lauren

~ by laurengiff on August 2, 2010.

6 Responses to “VeloNews Does it Again”

  1. She looks so “smart”.

  2. Wait, who do you say is doing the objectifying? Just because you find her attractive doesn’t mean that she doesn’t have a brain.

    She is a person and thus deserves respect. Would you say these things to her face? I hope not. Posting on the internet is not a whisper to a close friend; everyone, including Holly, can hear you.

    I suspect that Holly made her own wardrobe selections. I don’t think the tiny Velocenter organization had much to do with what she wore, how she wore her hair, etc. I’d be willing to bet they were more concerned with what she said and how she said it.

    She may not be a cycling expert (but then again she may be, for all I know), but the position did not require it. Just as Scott Kaplan was simply there to ask questions to the expert Todd Gogulski, Holly was there to describe the stage, so that Velocenter could show the impressive graphics provided to them. By using those graphics and a third person, I believe Velocenter’s intention was to look like a larger more professional enterprise. I do not think their intention was to objectify women.

    Folks on TV who read scripts are almost always attractive, as are most actors. That doesn’t mean they are intended to be objectified. Some people may objectify them, but that doesn’t mean it was the casting director’s intention.

    I think this post says more about you than it does about Holly and Velocenter.

    • David,
      Thanks for your comment. I do, in fact, hope my post represents me and my values, specifically how I view this type of male/female juxtaposition in the media.
      -l

  3. I bet she gives good brain

  4. I think “stage 20” is how cyclists refer to second base. You know, it takes them awhile.

Leave a Reply

 
