Lauren updates Rudy’s blog because he doesn’t have Internet

I'm on the right.

Rudy is in New Mexico at host housing without internet, so he asked me to write an update on his last few days.

-Lauren

Tour of the Gila starts today. According to VeloNews, “Besides the high winds — which are expected from Wednesday’s opening stage through Saturday — rank and file pro riders will have to contend with the strongest fields, for men and women, ever assembled for the 24-year-old New Mexican race.” That field includes Lance Armstrong, last years winner Levi Leipheimer, Dave Zabriskie and, of course, Rudy.

Today’s stage is a rolling 93-mile road race with a mountain finish. Thursday is another road race, then an ITT on Friday and a final road race on Saturday.

Earlier in the week, Rudy finished his first race with Team Exergy. Here are some photos from VeloNews where you can catch a glimpse of him riding with the pack. I put these on Twitter with the captions, “mid pack, in gray” and “third wheel,” to which Ryan Kelly responded, “You could have also said, “looking like a lost eight year old.””

Rudy is towards the back. Gray kit, blue bike, lost 8-year-old boy look. (Photo: VeloNews)

I tried to add to these using Photoshop.com, but I wasn’t able to export my masterpieces. Any suggestions?

Mule Pass Summit. Rudy is around front, middle, two wheels back. (Photo: VeloNews)

In other cycling news, I think it is really lame that Fitchburg cut the women’s 3/4 road and circuit races. One of the few manageable stage races for beginner women, now just down to a crit and an ITT. (Full discosure, after I did the ITT in 2007, Brendan Cornett looked at my time and said, “Were you even going hard?”)

Front yard of my house. Norwich, Vt. April 28, 2010.

Other than that, it’s snowing here in Norwich, Vermont and all the daffodils around my house are wilted and dying, not to mention the garden of greens my housemate recently planted. If April showers bring May flowers, what does April snow bring?

~ by laurengiff on April 28, 2010.

One Response to “Lauren updates Rudy’s blog because he doesn’t have Internet”

  1. I know! I know! April misery. And a general reprieve from the onus of riding in it. To bad we can’t ski.

Leave a Reply

 
